I see Buzzer Beat; I see Long Vacation

6 12 2009

Before you read any further, please keep these 2 points in mind:

1. I did enjoy Buzzer Beat.

2. Long Vacation is my favourite J-dorama of all-time (& is pretty much responsible for making Kimura Takuya my favourite actor of all-time, alongside the fan-freaking-tastic awesomeness that is Tony Leung.)

Okay. So I mentioned in my last post that Buzzer Beat totally reminded me of Long Vacation. Don’t believe me? Let’s bring out the evidence!

Exhibit A
Photobucket

The frequent looking out of the window from a high-rise apartment situation. And the drapey white curtains. And the bricky wall. Now you’re probably thinking, hmm, that’s nothing really that noteworthy, but relax (or not.) We are only just warming up xD

Exhibit B
buzzer

The apartment layout is looking far too similar, is it not ?? ^^;;;;;;

Exhibit C
Photobucket

Main protagonists (finally) chasing their musical dream & duh, succeeding! (For the record, I prefer piano but Keiko-chan was pretty much perfect as a violinist.)

Exhibit D
Photobucket

Sensitive main guy’s sweet first love falls for rugged, “Don’t give an eff because I’m so cool” attitude moustache man. BTW, Takenouchi Yutaka <333333 (To be fair though, I do not blame Aibu Saki‘s character completely. You have to admit that Naoki didn’t show a great deal of passion towards his long-time girlfriend at all. Remember that scene when Natsuki asks Naoki to give her a kiss before sending her off home? Seriously, come on Pi!)

Exhibit E
Photobucket

Bonding on the basketball court. Sena & Minami would meet alot at the court near their apartment. 13 years later, Naoki & Riko come along & do the same.

Exhibit F
Photobucket

Professional, more mature man proposes to main girl. Sugisaki-san the photographer couldn’t win the heart of Minami likewise Kawasaki-san the coach couldn’t win the heart of Riko. Sena & Naoki beat you down!

Exhibit GPhotobucket

The billboard effect- Don’t Worry Be Happy VS Love Makes Me Strong. Inspirational, right? Hang on, let’s zoom in a little >>>
Photobucket

Undeniable ! At this point, I actually dramawikied LV & BB & realised the director is the same for both series. Now we know but still, one last piece to share…

Exhibit H
Photobucket

^^As if you still can’t see it.

My conclusion? Buzzer Beat is the new millenium version of Long Vacation. Or should I say, it tried to be.

You take your pick, but for me, it’s most definitely Long Vacation all the freaking way <3

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 12 2009
Ender's Girl

I thoroughly enjoyed your post! I just wrote about BB a few weeks back and we happen to share sentiments re the LV-BB similarities. But I was too lazy to dig up the evidence and to actually juxtapose the LV and BB shots the way you did. Bravoh! :-) (And wow, I totally missed the same billboard company logo. BRAH-VOH!)

Btw, Kimura + LV + Johnnies = hey, we’re soul sisters! XD Mind if I link you to my Blogroll? Too late–done! =)

17 12 2009
jicks3

Hey I’m so glad someone else shares the same opinion on the topic! I just read your BB review, you are totally right, the more you realise the wannabe similarities, the more it fails ><;;

21 12 2009
Ender's Girl

Yeah, and it’s kinda funny that Kimura and YamaPi were both 24 when they did LV and BB, respectively.

I keep coming back to the photo in Exhibit E (the one on the left, duh). Good grief, SO HOT. Kimura wiped the floor with Pi in every category. I may not dig the puffy-faced brown thing that Kimura has morphed into in recent years (tsk), but at 24, he was perfection.

Leave a Reply

