Sucks to be Moon Geun Young (not)

18 10 2010

Oh my! Orrrr Maaah!!! It’s the teaser for the upcoming KBS drama, Mary Stayed Out All Night, starring Jang Geun Suk, Moon Geun Young, Kim Jae Wook & Kim Hyo Jin!!!!!! >>>

^^NEVER ever thought I would say this but Kim Jae Wook is looking like the manlier dude for once lol *hearts on Hwang Tae Kyung^^*

Truth be told I actually find the teaser a little lame… but still, I have semi high hopes for this series because:

———

Photobucket

[A] It’s based on the manga/manhwa Maerineun Uibakjoong by Soo Yeon Won, who also penned Full House (which we know got made famous by my Bi baby & the stunningly gorgeous Song Hye Kyo.) This isn’t to say that I thought Full House was an off-the-meter blazing winner (although for some reason I did love it lol) but my brain is thinking: manga based dramas usually do not go wrong *crosses fingers & crosses toes*

———

Photobucket
[B] It’s Jang Geun Suk & Kim Jae Wook for goodness sakes. Pretty on the eyes & matte, matte! They actually have acting talent to boot, too! Both guys have been churning out reputable pieces of work lately in the drama world. And now they’re together in the one series so… yes please. NOW.

Well, not quite now, more like on November 8 :))

Fasten your seatbelts, I’m thinking this is definitely gonna be one helluva ride (or I will be eating my own words in a couple of  months time. Dang, I am so getting back into the Korean scene! Don’t worry Johnny-san, it’s a return ticket I promise lololol)

Actions

Information

12 responses

18 10 2010
doozy

Yay! jicks is back in k-drama land. *throws confetti*

The trailer does look lame/cheesy, but hopefully the show is better. I would say that I’m looking forward to this since I like Moon Geun Young, but I can’t because Mary Stayed Out… follows after my drama of the year SKKS. I love this show so much I want it to go on forever.

btw, have you seen baby Bi’s Runaway? I haven’t yet but read that the ratings have been slipping which makes me a little sad since it’s his TV comeback in a while.

21 10 2010
jicks

I’ve always acknowledged Moon Geun Young as a talent but personally, she’s never really done anything for me.

Is Sungkyunkwan Scandal really that good? Hmm, may need to get onto it…

Haven’t touched Runway yet but am definitely getting onto it when all the episodes & subs are up. I haven’t kept up to date with the ratings but I have heard positive feedback regarding Bi’s comedic goofiness (*hearts*) & also praise on his action scenes (yea-ah!) Will watch it from start to finish regardless of what the ratings are like I think… I’m more the kinda person to pick up a series based on how I feel rather than being influenced by ratings… ;OO

18 10 2010
Ender's Girl

LOL @ your title!

now JGS can finally say, “MGY baby and me” haha

if i’m gonna watch this it’ll be for kim jae-wook fo’ shizzles! (wow i’ve been using that expression a lot lately XD)

21 10 2010
jicks

I think Jang Geun Suk is very likeable but Kim Jae Wook is fo’shizzle the shizzles by fizzles lol

I’m definitely gonna mad gun for Wookie in this series but I’m thinking the androgynous thing won’t be getting the girl again… :(

19 10 2010
Mil.

So, the first minutes of the trailer I was running for cover for all the cavities developing in my mouth, and then I was “Wai… what? When did the couples change like that? Swingers?”. So I might have to read the manwha while waiting for this to air. The fact that JGS and KJW are two hot pieces of ***e has absolutely almost nothing but not quite got to do with my sudden anticipation for a story I had never even heard about before!

21 10 2010
jicks

So, the first minutes of the trailer I was running for cover for all the cavities developing in my mouth..
^^hahahaha Well, I personally spent most of the early moments of the teaser trying to figure out who was the woman lol

Re the manhwa, not sure how hard it would be to get an English version of it… (do you understand Korean??) Not that I’ve made an effort to search lol If you find it, lemme know ;P

28 01 2011
mil.

Re the manwha: after intensive searching (i.e. AFTER watching the drama I googled it out of curiosity in the plot development) I found one chapter translated online. first 4 pages and the story was already completely different, which made me wonder, but I don’t plan to do any reading till I find a full version, for crying out loud.

sssso… did you watch it? I found the subs by pure chance, so went on to “acquire” the series, and my personal stand on the matter is that my original motivation to watch this drama (drooling all over the place for JGS and KJW) didn’t change into anything else overtime: I watched it to the end only to continue drooling!

luckily the corniness of the preview is at least a little toned down. not too much, but enough to not actually make me call up my dentist :P

did enjoy some of the songs that appeared in the show (not that I’ll ever admit unless under torture that I actually LIKED some of the original songs – I mean the cameo background playing of some classics, like Elliott Smith :P )

28 01 2011
mil.

mil didn’t learn how to close tags all night, darn it!

28 01 2011
jicks

I don’t know about you but I have a great deal of struggle finding Korean manhwas translated into English. And like you, unless I know for a fact that the full thing will be at my fingertips, I will not begin reading it.

Alas, that won’t stop me from watching this series, as poor as the results are. At least I have your reassurance that the boys will keep me going ;) Also heard a rumour the OST is pretty cool just like you said… haven’t they released two soundtrack CDs? The tunes must be good then! xP

P.S. Don’t worry about the tag formatting stuff, I am notorious for it lol I can’t even begin to count how many times I’ve italicised entire bodies of text in my comments esp over at E.G.’s blog, not to mention the double/triple/quadruple posting… so, it’s all good :)

29 01 2011
mil.

same here! I usually find a lot of Hwang Mi Ri’s work, which in all honesty bores me to death after two chapters and has the tendency of being the same story over and over (and over) again! but if I find an interesting author/story cruising the web ye can bet yer lower back that I won’t find any translated copies! *grumblegrumble*

OK, just because it’s between me and you (and the world wide web, haha!) I’ll ‘fess up – I LOVE the soundtrack! ALSO the original songs, haha! But on the plus side it’s also packed with great tracks people are familiar with even if they have never entered the k-pop world even by mistake. I thought that with a bit less monotony and cliché it could have been a good show, all in all. I DID get stuck singing to myself “take care, my bus” while walking to work, haha.

(phew! I do have the bad tendency of screwing up blog comments and message board posts because of my lack of attention, it’s good to know there’s a few of us out there ;P )

29 01 2011
mil.

BTW, if you’re not excessively concerned about some visual spoilers from the first 2/3 episodes, you can hear one of the main songs from the first half of the series:

31 01 2011
jicks

Heya, thanks for posting the clip! Never mind the “spoilers,” I mean, how much can the first few episodes give away anyways- totally enjoyed ogling every moment^^; I don’t mind the song actually, it’s kinda indie rock cool :D

Was just thinking about it the other day, Jang Geun Suk’s last three series have had him being some sort of music guru in some shape or form. Dunno if it’s a conscious or subconscious thing (I believe also he just released his own CD in Japan so I’ma thinking the boy definitely has rock star aspirations… perhaps he is currently living it out thru dramaland ^_^) but I am certainly interested in what his next series will be.

In the meanwhile, I also heard Kim Jae Wook and his band are releasing things! Have you had a chance to hear some of their stuff?

Leave a Reply

