I like my Shun silent & brooding, not dumb & tripping.

21 11 2010

Photobucket

Someone please gimme a hug & a Miura Haruma‘s number one sister”Oguri Shun‘s number one fan” medal- I made it through all nine episodes of Binbo Danshi *yanks cord tipping giant golden bucket of rainbow confetti*

Maybe I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind to be entertained by the over-exaggerated faces of His (Usually) Walking Hotness Oguri Shun but never in a million trillion gazillion years did I EVER guess I would say what I am about to say…

I found him annoying *smacks mouth* *punches self in face*

I’m hearing you & the little voices inside my head cry- believe me, it physically hurts finally coming to terms with that acknowledgment *slaps bandaid on left side of chest* But, if it makes anyone feel any better, it wasn’t entirely the man’s fault.

Photobucket

Binbo Danshi essentially tries to tell a story of the weight of money in society VS the weight of the human heart. At least that’s what I think the writers were underlyingly trying to get at. The plot follows a college student, Koyama Kazumi (played by Oguri Shun) who accumulates an astronomical debt because he keeps withdrawing from this apparently oh-so-generous money machine so he can help all the people around him. He soon realises that this ain’t a free lunch situation. It is, in fact, *DUH-DUH-DUUUHHHNN* a loan machine!

Photobucket

I’m all for open, honest, no-frills, pure-hearted innocence but Koyami Kazumi is just too naive (that’s to put it nicely. Stupidly moronic would be the more accurate term >_>…) With such a poorly written main character, really, this series never stood a freaking chance. I’m sure they wanted us to bask in his super glowing good nature & (I guess) his courage to help out & urge on the people around him, but the premises on which he took upon his & their debts did not make sense, much less win me over at all.

I don’t always need a story that is believable in every facet but I do need a character who I can relate to or want to relate to. If Kazumi was a superhero or something (I dunno, have him come from another planet or era?? A travel through time scenario perhaps? ) maybe the story would’ve worked. His strange antics & disconnect from what real human nature is like would not have appeared so foolish. But as a regular human being… seriously, if there is someone like Kazumi on this planet, heaven help them NOW.

Photobucket

They did explain the reason why Kazumi was always such a happy chappy, flashing us back midway through the series to his childhood times when he watched his elder brother fall ill & pass away. Little Kazumi blamed himself for not making it to the hospital in time with his money box but his mother, shaking her head, said something along the lines of;

“No Kazumi, that is not the reason. Your brother doesn’t need your money, all he needs is your smile. So don’t cry again because he needs your smile. Your smile will heal his heart.”

And so ever since then, Kazumi just smiles. And smiles. That’s all fine & well but dude, there is a line. And don’t get deranged-weepy on me every single time someone makes a remotely nice gesture. It ain’t cool.

To make matters more frustrating, I love Oguri Shun. I freaking love Oguri Shun. I love Oguri Shun & all his freaking farking beautifuless… but… *wails at top of lungs* I appreciate the trying-to-branch-out-of-the-silent-deep-mysterious-second-lover kinda role but Oh My Dearest Shun, I so was not a fan of the over-cooked faces, baby (not to mention the frizzahair (°ω°;) And the crazy-coloured puffa vests…) Unfortunately, I think this style of comedy is either a born-with-it OR NOT thing. While I know Shun does have some very decent comedic sense in him (think Tokyo Dogs, Hana Kimi, Stand Up!,) his OTT expressions in Binbo Danshi appeared exactly that- too “put on.” I couldn’t bear watching Shun try so hard to be a Kazumi because clearly, that sort of overly simple-minded, brazenly naive adult-of-a-character is not him. Comedy-wise, I think things are more of a success when he is looking & being all cool & kakkoi & then makes a goofy blunder- at least that’s how he gets me chuckling.

Photobucket

I found Yusuke Santamaria kinda likeable as the self-important OmuOmu-san aka The Loan Master/Debt Collector who was too conceited to remember anyone’s names & I can’t help but wonder if they had elaborated on his story more, perhaps the series could’ve been… less of a joke a more meaningful one. They did briefly mention a past family trauma that made him into the selfish way that he is but it would have been nice to see more of a funny sappy side to him throughout the entire series. You know, make us understand why he is such a self-centered weirdo- make us feel for “the bad guy.” There were also one or two short (semi) emotional exchanges between him & Kazumi where I felt like they could’ve taken a step further to clock up our intrigue & concern for them a bit more but meh, they didn’t. Which is a shame, because, after all, these two were kinda alike in that they had both been shaken in the past, it’s just that they were dealing with it now in their adulthood in opposite ways.

Photobucket

Yashima Norito & Yamada Yu were both relatively charming, relatively amusing, albeit their roles were kinda… forgettable. I would talk more about them but ah, there really isn’t much to tell ya… >>… oh, that’s right, their ending… hmm. Hmm! What-the?-How-the?-I-did-not-see-that-coming(!!!) is all I’ve got to say.

But the series wasn’t all bad. Luckily there was this little boy, er, young man with eyelashes longer than the girl sitting next to you, doing his thang in this series. Of course I am talking about Miura Haruma *bolts from Child Protection Service Officers* (-_-;) Boy, you sure did every cougar this side of Johnny’s Wonderland proud in this series! Okay, fine, he wasn’t Academy-worthy knock-your-socks-off-fantastic in the series, but hey, this was no Academy-worthy series either. He did for the most part make the most of what he was given to work with & was everything a lovable high-school-aged boy should be (the love-letter-writing-to-his-secret-crush thing included *index finger to cheek, looks up & ponders*)

Miura plays the role of Shiraishi Ryo, a 17yr old who has been left with the debt of his parents who ran away to escape their loan collectors, abandoning their son & leaving him with no choice but to quit school & start working. Shiraishi could easily sell the house to pay off the debt but he hasn’t done so because he lives with the hope one day his parents will return. He’s mad-peeved at them yet still, more than anything, he wants to some day live in that house with his parents again. Yupyupyup everybody together now: *giant group hug*

Photobucket

The only thing that somewhat kept me going with this series (apart from Miura‘s… youthful loveliness^^;;;;;;) was the bromance (sometimes I really did wonder xDD) relationship between Kazumi & Shiraishi. Favourite moment was in episode six when Shiraishi full-on lashes out at Kazumi for being… well, Kazumi. After bumping into Shiraishi‘s Dad by chance, Kazumi tries to reunite them & says very lightly, “He just has to return the money!”

Shiraishi, “Please say that again?”
Kazumi, “Hm… Shiraishi-chan?”
Shiraishi, “Please say that again… why? How can you say such a thing? Do you know how much it hurts me?”
Kazumi, “Well, no… but don’t think too seriously about it… “
Shiraishi, Kazumi-san, you don’t understand at all how painful debts are. Kazumi-san, you don’t understand at all how much money changed my life. I lost my parents, I gave up my house, my friends. I quit school… the memories I have- do you know how much I’ve gone through? Don’t say ‘You just have to return it” so easily.”

Shiraishi is raging but he gets all… *hurls box of tissues at the boy*

Photobucket

And it’s because he’s been so rocked by Kazumi‘s unwavering optimistic outlook on life. You know, how can this dude always be grinning? How can there be someone that good of a person in real life? Kazumi on the other hand, gets a slap in the face (metaphorically that is.) During this moment at least, I get the feeling that he does have another level (that is “normal” lol) It’s almost as if he finally realises that his constant excitement & encouragement can sometimes be too smothering- & mebbe not everyone can take it so straight-on.

But wait, there’s more. If you thought that would bring a cease to all the Kazumi madness, then you are wrong. After this incident, Kazumi finally clears his own debt, but then voluntarily chooses to take on Shiraishi‘s debt of… ¥100million. Ah no, that ain’t a typo. You read it right- that was indeed ¥100million. Like, seriously, I wouldn’t even do that for my family (lol j/ks, of course I would ~~…) Shirashi‘s world has been completely moved by this crazy, forever-bubbly fella who always, always thinks for everyone around him. Kazumi really cares for Shiraishi & Shiriashi feels this.

From this point onwards, it’s all just a helluvalota man-love. Like, for instance, when Shiraishi uses his new laptop to access online resources to help Kazumi with his bartering business…

Photobucket

^^For a moment there I actually wanted to be a Kazumi gahaha (Oh dear ( ̄□ ̄;))

Actions

Information

13 responses

21 11 2010
thuthuy

I and my cousins watched this series too and yes, it’s worth-watching * even though the ending isn’t satisfied to me *
Kazumi’s so kawaii, ne? XD
Victory!!!!

21 11 2010
thuthuy

Sorry for the fact that what I felt about the series is quite different from yours .
I love Oguri Shun, too . And Kazumi is one of the most favorable roles of him, in my opinion :X

23 11 2010
jicks

haha It’s alright, just because I didn’t like it doesn’t make me against the people who do like it ;)

That’s cool that you are an Oguri Shun fan, too though! *high tens* How much of his work have you seen? I’m still slowly working his resume (it’s sooooo long ><; lol) but to date, my favourite role of his is still definitely in HanaDan (what's yours??): Orange hair + silent broodiness + violin + alota white wearing = Yeaah-ah bebbe lol xDD

22 11 2010
zooey

I love Oguri Shun. I freaking love Oguri Shun. I love Oguri Shun & all his freaking farking beautifuless…

Ooh, you typed it in 3x, must be true. Lol x)

Seriously, major props to you for finishing this series. I dropped it halfway thru because of all the things you mentioned and I’m still not sure whether I can summon the patience to see the rest of it. I second your post title, I also like Shun silent and brooding. I think he does have talent for comedy but not this brand of comedy. I’m still looking forward to the day when he gets a project where he can put that deadpan delivery and comic timing to good use because his stint in Tokyo Dogs and Hana Kimi just won’t cut it. He has all this potential to be great but he has yet to stumble upon a project that would properly exhibit his acting capability.

Have to agree with your observations on Kazumi– the character is just seriously whacked, I mean he’s just asking to be made a fool of and what’s frustrating is that he gets taken advantaged of at every turn and he just bears it, doesn’t hold any grudge or anything, he just brushes it off with a goofy grin, steadfastly believing in the human spirit. I keep going back to the first episode when he discovers that all he had were fair-weathered friends and that didn’t even faze him. And when people do come in to help, he ends up looking like an idiot, in the verge of bawling, and when he’s about to be free of his debt… we’re back to square one. It’s like there’s this automatic reset button. It’s like his life would be meaningless if he weren’t buried in debt… heck, the show would end, right then and there if he weren’t buried in debt. Kazumi, the character, really is a hard sell.

22 11 2010
Ender's Girl

^ Lol, I know right!? “I doormat, therefore I am.” It’s like Kazumi can only find validation when people fleece him blind — otherwise life has no meaning for him. No wonder the character never elicits any sympathy from the viewer; it isn’t just a simple case of being kindhearted and stuff — ‘coz the dude’s generosity is borderline PATHOLOGICAL, lol. (I mean, 100M yen???????? That IS “seriously whacked”!) While *trying* to watch this drama the past coupla days I kept thinking they shoulda subtitled the drama “Gullible’s Troubles” or something, haha

@ jicks – I was laughing already just reading your title, and then I scrolled 2 nanometers down and saw the first piccie with the check and x marks and it just killed me!!! XD

I had a blast reading this review! And I feel for ‘ya, I know it ain’t easy to *rightfully* diss an actor you’ve loved this long and this much. So *GIANT HUG* for bravely telling it like it is!!! Hopefully your Shunnie has been making amends as Doolittle? *crosses toes*

“I think things are more of a success when he is looking & being all cool & kakkoi & then makes a goofy blunder- at least that’s how he gets me chuckling.”

Omo totally. So that’s why his characters in Stand UP! and Hana Kimi worked so well for me. Full-on slapstick with no gravitas and kakkoi-ness does NOT work well.

I got past Ep. 2 before I bailed. I mean, when Shun’s AWWWFUL hair is the LEAST annoying thing about his character, you know it can’t bode well for both the drama and the viewer. Still, the bromance oughtta be worth it, so I’ll just use my trusty FFWD button to check out the *gooood* parts. (Bwahahahaha @ that last picture!!! And @ your last line!!!! You’re so hentai but…. knowing me, I’d totally beat ya to Miura if I could! *straps on “crazy-colored puffa vest”* lulzzz)

And I lovelovelove everything you wrote about Miura and his character!!!! Seeing him cover his windows with those old newspapers just BROKE MY HEART, lol.

Speaking of our favorite man-boy, dija hear that in his next drama he plays a high school TEACHER who’s ENGAGED to Toda Erika and who CHEATS on her with one of his STUDENTS????!??!?? What the EFF, right???? One minute he’s a happy-go-lucky high school student clowning around with Shirota Yu, and then now he’s in a *very* mature romantic leading role?!?!?!?! Not to mention he’s way too young to fit the bill, argh. What were his handlers at Amuse THINKING?!?!?!? alskdjfhg ghggg (Gomen, just wanted to vent)

23 11 2010
jicks

Thanks for pointing out the pictures!! I couldn’t help myself on them… it was, like, my way of making my point lol

I mean, when Shun’s AWWWFUL hair is the LEAST annoying thing about his character, you know it can’t bode well for both the drama and the viewer… Hopefully your Shunnie has been making amends as Doolittle? *crosses toes*
^Speaking of bad hair, well, he’s not off to a good start with the Antonio Banderas oil-slick hairdo but we can only hope lol Haven’t heard too much about Juui Dolittle… so, no news is good news, ne? *crosses eyes*

Ah, YEAH I read about Miura’s new little project!!! At first when I heard Toda Erika, I thought yay, cute youthful couple but then I read the synopsis- TWICE- & was like, honki??? What the mother of…??? I am so completely with you on this one- this image is not what the boy sells off… I mean, now what are all us cougars little fangirls going to live off now ><; Man, we can only hope his character redeems himself in the end… otherwise, I'm thinking maybe I need to save the Kimi ni Todoke movie as a backup for after this series…

24 11 2010
Ender's Girl

^ Argh, I know right? But I don’t know if I can wait that long… (to watch Kimi ni Todoke). I just want to see Miura carefree and in luurve WITHOUT any sordid baggage. >( This is the time in his career (early twenties) when he should be doing Orange Days or Tatta Hitotsu no Koi-types of dramas, for ferks sake. *shakes fist @ Amuse*

Unless he’d rather be… an Eita rather than a Satoshi/Kame kind of actor??? Alternative Leading Man instead of Conventional Leading Man? Nuffink against your Eita honey, but….

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

*takes the nearest train to Aomori*

27 11 2010
jicks

This is the time in his career (early twenties) when he should be doing Orange Days or Tatta Hitotsu no Koi-types of dramas, for ferks sake. *shakes fist @ Amuse*^^Could not agree more! Bad Boy Miura just doesn’t sound right-o! >_>

Btw, you heard of his new movie news? —>>>

http://www.tokyohive.com/2010/11/miura-haruma-to-star-in-upcoming-movie-tokyo-kouen-with-three-gorgeous-actresses/

27 11 2010
Ender's Girl

Yes I heard I heard!!!! Interesting premise, hope it all works out nicely. My first thought was, college boy + amateur photog…? So is he gonna get bitten by a radioactive spider next? Hah hah. (If Japan did their own Spidey reboot, Miura would be pefect as Peter Parker, ne? Johnny-san could be cast as the Green Goblin and… guess who’d be perfect as Venom? Why, Kame of course!!! lulz)

At least playing a college boy is more age-appropriate than some icky student-banging teacher, WTF, ughgghgh

23 11 2010
jicks

Ooh, you typed it in 3x, must be true. Lol x)
^^lol *likes* (!!!) xDD Well, I was hoping that if I said it in front of a mirror, he’d actually appear in before me & then I could whack him in the head & tell him he screwed himself over with this role (that is, before we engaged in some, er, violin playing fun lol) Ah well.

…heck, the show would end, right then and there if he weren’t buried in debt.
^I know right, that would’ve saved us all so much heartache & eyerolling action. A tanpatsu would have been more than enough… for him & Yamada Yu to hook up haha^^;

Re his potential, I do agree… for the most part. I remember we had a discussion over at your blog a while back about this topic & I am still completely on the fence. As a fan, I am concerned, is he just going to be one of those people who everyone overestimated & thought was going to be great, like we want him to be something that’s actually not in him? I freaking hope on my Crows Zero DVDs not. For now at least, I still have faith :)

23 11 2010
doozy

For some reason, every time I come across this show’s title, I read it as BIMbo Danshi. And now that I’ve read your description of Shun’s character, I guess my mental modification would work too.

Even though I’m not up-to-date with the jdorama scene and am indifferent about Shun, your review (title included) cracks me up! LOLs all around!

p.s. How’s the progress on the TW vs. JP HanaKimi showdown?

27 11 2010
jicks

lol BIMBO Danshi… agreeing with you & E.G., yupyup, such title def woulda fit perfectly ^O^;;;

p.s. How’s the progress on the TW vs. JP HanaKimi showdown?
^^*darts eyes* Uh, I have no idea what you girls are talking about *leaps off into ocean of feather boas* -_-;
It’s… well… I have good intentions lol. I have some wordage started but it’s buried somewhere amongst the 5million unfinished drafts I have (E.G. I know you know what that’s like!^^;;) but the It Started With A Kiss VS Playful Kiss thing is a bit more enticing at the minnie. I may get back onto the Hana Kimi scenario if only to resurrect some of my passion for Shun-boy :) Keep an eye out (but- WARNING- don’t hold your breath lol)

24 11 2010
Ender's Girl

Hahahaa! rofl “BIMbo Danshi” = so true! XDDD

Yeah jicks, howz dat HanaKimi showdown coming along??? (lollll I’m one to talk…) Now you can totally sock me in the mouth… *shuts eyes and braces for impact*

Leave a Reply

