It’s all about the BIG and the BANG.

24 03 2012

Okay, please don’t hate but there was a while where I thought that Korean supergroup BIGBANG were slightly overrated. Not that I didn’t think they were talented but I was just underwhelmed with their last coupla pieces of work.

But FML to the max, have they changed my perception with their latest album. Alive— it’s total boyband brilliance (heck, it’s total musical brilliance!) The first two songs released, Blue and Bad Boy, are juuuuuust sooooo, effortlessly(,) cool. And the MVs are just as freaking perfect *crazy fangirl drool* They are everything a BIGBANG fan would want them to be.

<3 <3 <3 (Btw, also loving their hiptronic dance track Fantastic Baby… the MV just screams Lady Gagatasticness in the bestest of ways to me. Although, I would argue that G-Dragon is prettier than the forever eccentrically dressed American singer xDD)

☆☆☆ !!! Alas !!! ☆☆☆ The above isn’t actually the (full) instigating point for this post… yes the noona in me is firing up again today MUAHAHHAHAA. YG Entertainment are conducting a 2012 global event through YouTube: the BIGBANG cover contest. Did ya hear that? Global. That means, people from all over the world can enter (even you and I… but I’m not going to because… well, I can’t dance^^;;; This is why I tend to fan hard over boys who can dance, it’s a semi-admiration thing. But if I were to play cover, I would want to be a female TaeYang so I could wear retrosuperfuture shades and rock gravity-defying super-spikey hair. Hells yes I would use my Fog Bar spray~~)

It’s easy to see that there is an abundance of talent out there, and I’m sure everyone will have their personal faves. Since sharing is caring, I will now share with you mine. It’s by a group called YG Lovers Crew (who are essentially, from what I can gather, a K-pop cosplay/entertainment group from Vietnam. They have a facebook page if anyone is curious… please click HERE ) >>>

Tell me the guy cosplaying G-Dragon isn’t just the, er, nicest to look at (yes, he is young. Like, Miura Haruma young *jittery eyebrow twitch* + *sheepish noona grin* Oh, and the dude in TaeYang‘s role has freakishly thin arms. But at least he got the hairless armpit thing right, lol.)

Actions

Information

27 responses

25 03 2012
Peggy

Thank you threetimes over. At last I can admit to my craze for TOP and Big Bang. If I were that sort of person I would definitely try to sidle up to TOP and pass the time of day. In any way possible. I think he is super attractive and incredibly talented. I think he comes from a talented literary family..not sure of that…but he writes and acts and composes and sings and moves like a dream. I love all their MVs and they are just truly perfect in the execution of their numbers.

Well you get my drift. It’s something to do with wavelengths I think……

25 03 2012
Peggy

Did you ever watch that MV with TOP and G.Dragon and the girl and the snake? Oh my goodness. As if goodness had anything to do with it…… I loved that TOP liked the snake and held it and looked at it with his hyponotic eyes. Lovely snake. I think it was called ‘Goodnight girl’ or ‘Goodnight Baby’ Probably from last year.

28 03 2012
jicks

Peggy, I did not think of you to be a BIGBANG lover but aigoo, esp after their latest and greatest, who wouldn’t be I suppose! ;P
I can absolutely see what you mean about TOP. I was chatting with a couple of friends at dinner last week and the topic of “Who is your favourite BIGBANG member?” came up. My initial response was, “I can’t choose! There is one for each different mooooooood!” Then, one of the girls asked “Let’s put it this way then- Who would you want as a boyfriend?” And TOP’s name slipped out of my mouth… (that said, I would have to say Daesung is my favourite voice out of the group.)

Re Goodnight Baby, oh, you mean the MV with all the strawberries, champagne and white bed linen action? Yes, ’tis a very slick track. Agreed with you on TOP’s eyes, I barely even saw the snake actually. Once you catch his stare, it’s difficult to look away.

I also really liked seeing G-Dragon show a very sweet, mushy side in the clip, too :)

12 04 2012
doozy

Daesung voice is smooth like velvet. His voice is my favorite too.

16 04 2012
jicks

Totally agree! And his hair is looking dang fine these days too! ;P (Why do we always take notice of the hair, lol)

25 03 2012
doozy

I’m not too familiar with BigBang and wouldn’t consider myself a true fan since I only know like two of their songs, Haru Haru and Blue.

When I first hear Blue, I wasn’t impressed. But dang it, the more I listen to it, the more it grew on me and before I knew it, I was humming the darn melody and couldn’t get it out of my head. Haven’t heard Bad Boy though but will check it out since it’s got your approval too.

28 03 2012
jicks

I was like that with Blue initially too and yah, the more you listen to it, the more you realise that it is a very good song. And the music video only further accentuates it.

Bad Boy appealed to me straight away,, possibly because I encountered it in MV format first. If you could ever look as hot as you look cool, then this is it. So, please, doozy, drag yourself down with me, I’ma waiting, lol.

29 03 2012
Peggy

Dear Jicks,
Just because I am one hundred years old does not mean I have to exist out on the picture FRAME dear. TOP would enliven any body.

Then there is that number..? ‘Fantastic Babe’ i think. Now that I like a lot.

6 04 2012
jicks

Dear Peggy, I completely agree with you! No matter what age we or THEY are, it never hurts to appreciate beauty ;P I am sure you are well aware of my *coughs* admiration *coughs* for ah, not-quite-as-old-as-me boys *twitch**twitch* xDD

Have you watched much of BIGBANG’s live performances of their latest hit tracks? TOP really does have amazing stage presence. I think the most recent one I saw had him rocking fuschia pink eyebrows. Somehow, it really, really makes it work. And yes, he is also very suavely cool in the MV Fantastic Baby. I think it’s his eyes.

Finally, here’s a little bonus for you, Peggy:
Photobucket
^^I guess it pays to make sure you are always nice to everybody in class ;)

29 03 2012
Peggy

Yes it’s the second MV at the top. ‘Fantastic Baby’ Niiiiice…….

6 04 2012
Peggy

Well you always have to give the cake time to cook. Baby fat does tend to change into lean and mean with time. I think TOP is perfection. I like his looks. I like his movement and I like the way he just blends in with the group and with G.Dragon. I won’t say I would like to be in my twenties again because I had such a good time in my own life. However,
Just proves Jicks, that we have good taste and we are with it.
It would always be nice to use some imagination with regard to TOP.

they have been showing a lot of videos on our TV here in California on the Mnet shows and also on another channel so I have been wallowing in Big Bang the past two weeks.

7 04 2012
Peggy

Oooh I forgot to say that I agree 100% with your choice for boyfriend JICKS.! I think that TOP would be a gentleman….but an irresistible gentleman if you get my drift. Everything would be enjoyable.
I must say that when you watch these guys dance and move and make with the music they are soooo well presented. They must have worked so hard from the beginning and they all have rhythm in their souls. Are there any DVDs available??

12 04 2012
Peggy

I really liked Bad Boy right away. I did not know where they were but to me it looked like NYC and they were downtown under the old elevated. It only exists down there now I think. anyway I just liked the whole thing. I am going to see if I can get the MVs or DVDs of this album but I want the pics as well as the music etc. They all have every move just right. When you think they are hot rappers it is so great that they can sing with such musicality.

16 04 2012
jicks

I’d say they’re bound to release one sooner or later so if you come across a DVD, please do let me know, Peggy! I will want a copy myself. The MVS definitely add flavour to the already fabulousness of the songs. Bad Boy got me straight away, too, whereas with Blue, I was similar to doozy, while I did semi-like it upon my first hearing, it definitely grew on me each time I listened to it. It’s truly a well-composed song.

I was actually rethinking my response as TOP as the ideal boyfriend and I can’t agree more with all the things you said about him. That said, I am kinda swaying towards G-Dragon nowadays— I’m thinking it’s the “bay boy” thing~~ *twitches left eyebrow*

17 04 2012
Peggy

Found out they were actually in Brooklyn when they did those songs. It’s NYC. I have not found any DVD’s yet. Found that TOP was quite chunky early on but he has really lost a lot of weight. Even his face changed and now he looks fabulous. He should not lose any more weight. He is just right now.
He is ambitious about being a good actor. I thought he was very impressive in IRIS even tho no large dialogue. It is surprising how good looking they all are because it’s not so easy to see when they are doing a number and the camera flashes past them so quickly.

24 05 2012
Peggy

Dear Jicks…I am still searching for a DVD. They are still being shown on Mnet here in California. I am still haunting any glimpse of them. I just love them all. I like the ‘Hangover’ number. I think some of the settings out in the desert etc etc are like some of the pictures by Salvador Dali. Surrealisic vistas. Those hulks of wrecked smoking cars etc. They look pristine in dark suits. I wonder who does those great settings. G.Dragon writes the music and songs. He is so talented. He and TOP do great rapping. I have seen some in English and it is no silly drivel they turn out. TOP is going to do another film soon. I hope it is a romantic role for a change.

13 06 2012
Peggy

Jicks,
Well I am still in a BigBang frame of mind…:-) I am like you and very much drawn to G.Dragon. found out that he does music and lyrics as well as rap. He can speak four or five languages. I have been studying all of them and they all have music embedded and they are quite philosophical about themselves and life when they get to talking.When you watch them making an MV it is striking to see how they all know just when to enter and leave the shot and they really know just what goes on for a scene. Years of training. Now they seem to have settled in to being close as a group. I hope they would be like SMAP and never break up no matter what happens. They need to support one another and I think last year and bumps in the road have brought them closer. Watched some of their concert numbers and they are really good at moving around one another on stage. That takes talent, to avoid awkward gaps.

28 07 2012
jicks

Dear Peggy,

So sorry for the long delay in replying! I’ve had a pretty jam-packed few months with travelling & family weddings. Work has also been hectic, phew, but luckily I’ve had BIGBANG’s album to keep me sane (I am also loving Beast’s new stuff… not sure if you’re a fan? :)) Lovin’ BIGBANG’s latest MV for Monster… have you seen it? I really like how the Koreans invest alot into their music videos, they always find a way to bring out the essence of the song even more.

To be honest, I’ve only ever recently discovered just how multi-talented G-Dragon is *smacks head* I guess his overt, fashion-forward facade always kinda distracted me, but being aware of his huge medley of skills surely makes him even more attractive :D :D :D Not sure about a film, but I’ve read about TOP starring in a new dorama with Kim Ha Neul, AND it’s slated to be a romantic comedy! I think you might be pleased :)

I hope also BIGBANG stay strong as a group for many years to come just like SMAP! It’s heartbreaking— & often not for the better musically— to see power groups split up (it’s also sad for the fans to think that their favourite bandmates may just not have liked each other as they imagined T_T) Case in point, with DBSK— though I like JYJ, I just feel like there’s something missing from their songs.

Lastly, Ms Peggy, I really hope you’ve been well! X

28 07 2012
Peggy

Hi Jicks,
Good to see you again. I have been busy with all the people all over the world who deign to deal with me. Old me is doing OK. Had a few heart attacks over July 4th. Needless to say I stayed in my own little cave and laid low. Not the time to go to emergency or hospitals. Holiday here, and time when new young docs leave uni and get into servitude in medical field. No drastic test for me. they would surely finish me off. Just rested and had my usual glass of red wine. OK again. Had to see doc today and have a little repair work. OK again.
Life is good Jicks. I wish I could see BigBang when they come here in November. they will probably be quite near to me but I can’t do those standing concerts so I will search on the internet and youtube and hope they will show some of the shows. the Monster thing is very interesting. I notice that all the boygroups are now pressing on the hiphop theme but they don’t do the raps justice and they still only have the gymnastic dances. Nothing as artistic as the BigBang videos. Take care my dear. Peg.

28 07 2012
jicks

The hiphop thing doesn’t bode well with me in general, it’s kinda like how alot of American music (esp the rnb singers) is all about the dance/crunk style these days. I understand it’s what’s in trend but sometimes as an artist, you should really stay true to the talents that were given to you.

BIGBANG are touring all over the world pretty much but not my country, poops! Down Under is too far for some I suppose. I can only I will be in the same country as them at the same time one day. I remember I stood at a Boyz II Men concert once & regretted it… I think I’m the type who definitely needs my own personal space (especially if I paid for it!) And I also think it’s much harder for a girl ><;

Good to hear you are doing well, Peggy. Please take care of yourself :) I am sure the medical staff will do their best in looking after you.

Sending wonderful wishes your way! X

28 07 2012
Peggy

:-) Well I have never liked hiphop before and don”t even listen to any other groups except Big Bang. I thik they are unique. there is sojething very special about talent at times.
I am not in the care of docs . Just the occasional ‘Hi Babe” and that does it for a few months or so.
Take care..

11 08 2012
totallyclueless

Hi! It’s been a while since I last left a comment in your blog. Heee~ This totally made my day! Four of my favorite Japanese actors ever looking cute and silly forever. Huhuhu. *cries* Love them so much! Thank you for sharing :)

11 08 2012
jicks

Heya!
For some reason, I feel like your comment should have been for a Fog Bar post… I am guessing the sheer giddiness from watching them Shuuuuu away in joy left you a little disoriented, hihi xDD Nevertheless, good to hear from you! And glad to share the love.

Hope things are well with you! :-)

11 08 2012
totallyclueless

OMG I didn’t realize I clicked the wrong link! *shoots self* Yep the comment was supposed to be on your Fog Bar post! Gahhh. Hahaha.

Hope everything’s well for you too! :) Can’t wait to read more of your drama reviews :)

13 08 2012
jicks

:)

Re drama reviews, I’m trying, haha.

10 06 2013
Peggy

Hi Jicks,
I’m still here. Stopped driving last December. Decided I could not see well enough to miss any old codger who might be crossing in the middle of the road.
I am OK I think. I stay away from doctors but just check in with oncologist once a year. I like him. He is Chinese and looks after me so well. I am happy today cuse my sweet Rafael Nadal won his eighth French Open Tennis Championship. I love Nadal. But he is a bit young for me I think. 27+91 wouldn’t work. So I’ll stay with Kimura who is 40 and I will also stay with 35. that should work OK don’t you think. Life is good my dear. Hope all well with you. Peg

14 03 2014
jicks

Peggy my dear, I am so sorry for the tardy reply!!!!!! <3 <3

As you can see, I had completely abandoned my blog. Life just takes over sometimes. I sincerely am sending you prayers and hope you've been doing well. <3

Oh Nadal, he is such a machine on the clay isn't he? His comeback since his knee surgery has been phenomenal. Unhumanlike! I, myself, have been marveling at Federer's resurgence in form. Would love to see him duke it out with Nadal at Wimbledon or even the French this year… and win XD

P.S. Still yet to see Kimura's last series w Shibasaki Kou, a friend suggested it wasn't necessarily worth rushing to see :( But of course will check it out for the great man himself. Have you gotten around to seeing it? What are your thoughts? I am a bit excited about him playing Miyamoto Musashi though.Hopefully he'll rock it XD

Leave a Reply

